Fox Encounter

My final dusk/dawn bat surveys in Liverpool last night were again light on bats with only a couple of pip passes on our record sheets. But while the bats were absent, present were a pair of foxes.

I was stood about five meters away from where I had left my bag lying on the floor. I noticed movement out of the corner of my eye and looking over I saw a fox cub investigating the bag. The motion of my head caught its eye, making it jump. It let out a half-growl and ran away.

A few minutes later it was back. This time I was still and it either didn’t find me threatening or didn’t recognise me as a thing, for after a minute or so of staring curiously at me it sat down for a while. I stood watching the roof line of the building for bats while my Duet detector crackled away in my hand, glancing occasionally at the little fox sat on his bum near by. What a nice moment.

Around the corner I could hear another fox softly barking as though to let my reclining friend know where it was. When the recliner trotted off, the barking continued. I crept to the corner and peeped around. Another young fox stood near by, head low to the ground, looking expectantly for its companion.

I suppose I can look forward to more treats like this as I find myself out at dusk and dawn. I remember every other time I’ve seen a fox, they’re always special moments.

Leave a Reply

