Ferns Find a Way

A while ago while on my lunch break at Merseyside Biobank where I volunteer, a couple of us were having a crack at IDing the fern that sits in a pot on the kitchen window, using one of the keys in the library. It was an unremarkable looking pot plant, the kind you might find in rows in a garden centre, near the tills.

We keyed it out as far as agreeing it was a Lady Fern and went about our day. The thing that sticks out in that memory was Ben’s casual remark made while passing us, “That was self seeded”.

Self seeded. I like it when things are self seeded. The carpet of ferns in the woodland at Summerseat Nature Reserve in Bury where I also volunteer (though not as much these days as I would like) was self seeded, appearing one year having not been there before.

But what I really like is when things are self seeded in a plant pot or somewhere really unlikely. The soft rush in a pot in my garden was self seeded. Seems fitting that a wandering rush seed on the wind should set down in Rusholme. It grew in that pot as if it had been planted there. As if by looking like it’d been planted it might go unnoticed.

I always smile when I pass the old hospital building on Wilmslow Road and look up to see the tree growing out of the chimney. When Tom and I first saw it while walking home from uni one day, it was winter and could have been a dead branch blown up there by the wind. I kept an eye on it until one spring day you could suddenly see blossom on it. Good on you! I always think.

IMG_20120419_134231

So anyway, the other day I was on a building inspection, looking for signs of bats and what not. It was an extensive building in the middle of an urbanised area which had been neglected for some time. I like these kind of building surveys. You feel like an urban explorer only without the risk of a hefty fine for trespassing.

This place was magnificently-skanky. The kind of place gangsters would tie you to a chair and insist you told them where the money is. Thankfully there were no gangsters here, but there were ferns. Self seeded ferns were growing out of the carpets.

Ferns spores had found breeches in the structure, riding in on rogue breezes. No doubt hanging in the air a while before softly touching down. The result I think was rather beautiful. Interesting-beautiful. Interesting-skanky-beautiful. “Life finds a way” I thought, quoting Jurassic park. Not quite what Jeff Goldblum was getting at I know. But it does doesn’t it?

#Ferns find their way into a #DerelictBuilding

#Fern #carpet

upload

#fern #toilet

upload

#UrbanJungle #fern

upload

7 thoughts on “Ferns Find a Way

  1. What glorious photographs, I love finding these places where nature has spotted an opportunity to reassert itself once we move out. I came across a boarded up office room (on a bat survey, naturally) which was full of peacock butterflies preparing to hibernate, they covered the walls and were opening and closing their wings slowly but surprisingly loudly. There must have been 50 of them all resting on the walls. What a strange decision not to take a photograph, one I will always regret 🙂 you’ve done a cracking job of capturing the surreal beauty of this place!

    • Thanks GE I appreciate that. The peacock butterfly encounter sounds amazing! I love it when I happen across a couple, let alone 50. As it happens I rescued one from a near treading on in the center of Manchester the other day. They are a curious creature aren’t they?

  2. Pingback: ferns and other leafy plants | Gardening at Home with Sue

  3. Really cool! Life finds a way- These pics should be framed! It is like when you see a tree growing out of a craggy rock- Fantastic and inspiring. Jethro Tull song JAck in the Green – he has a line – “I saw some grass growing from the pavement today”

Leave a Reply

